The Pavillon Frais, also called Salon Frais or Pavillon du Treillage, was constructed under the reign of Louis XV between 1751 and 1753. The Pavillon Frais, when restored to its former beauty and grace, will greatly contribute to the perfection of the Jardin Français and stand out as an important tribute to the American-French friendship.

It was designed by the renowned Ange-Jacques Gabriel, “Architecte du Roi”, who is considered by many to be the greatest architect of the 18th century. Amongst his exceptional body of work are the marvelous Versailles Opera and the Place de la Concorde. He designed the exquisite Petit Trianon complex including the Petit Trianon, Pavillon Français, and the Pavillon Frais. Gabriel’s work exhibits a perfect sense of proportion and scale. This is certainly true of the Pavillon Frais.

The Pavillon Frais was used on warm spring and summer days as a private dining room by the Queen and her courtiers. The King also dined there often. The one room, stone Pavillon was ultimately charming with elaborate, intricate trelliswork with garden motifs in stone, situated in an enchanting garden setting. To each side of the Pavillon were two arched trellis galleries 20 meters long each. The pillars were adorned on top with topiary spheres. The interior of the Pavillon was decorated with walls of marvelous boiseries (sculpted with garlands and flowers), mirrors, a chimney and a savonerie carpet.